

Inside This Issue

- November Luncheon
- ASSP Foundation's Scholarship
- New Member Recognition
- AK Occupational Safety Summit
 - Membership Milestones
- Alaska Chapter in Action

November Luncheon

Please join us on Tuesday, November 19, 2019, from 11:30am - 1pm, for our monthly Alaska Chapter ASSP luncheon meeting. Remember, we are now meeting at the <u>BP Energy Center, 900 E. Benson Boulevard,</u> <u>Anchorage, AK 99508.</u>

After networking with your peers and eating a great lunch, we will have an opportunity to learn from Laurie Macchello, PT, CBES, owner of Healthy Ergonomics. Laurie will be leading a presentation on the Impact of Employee Well-Being on Injury Prevention.

Cost (with meal): \$20.00 if you RSVP, \$25.00 at the door, \$10.00 for ASSP Student Members.

Date: November 19, 2019 Time: 11:30am to 1:00pm Place: <u>BP Energy Center, 900 E. Benson Boulevard, Anchorage, AK 99508</u>

Send your RSVP to your Chapter President, Chris Warner, at president@alaska.assp.org by the close of business on November 14, 2019.





ASSP Foundation's Scholarship, Grant Program Accepting Applications

Since 1990, <u>ASSP Foundation</u> has awarded more than \$3 million in scholarships and professional education grants to those beginning or continuing education in the safety profession.

In <u>this video</u>, recent ASSP scholarship recipients explain why students in OSH should apply for scholarships from the ASSP Foundation.

"This award will affect my life in a very positive way," says Sabrina Delgado. "I am super excited to be putting the money towards pursuing a master's degree. This is really going to help pay for most of it."

The Foundation is <u>currently accepting applications</u> until Dec. 1, 2019, for more than 90 awards. Anyone who has completed at least 60 credit hours in a college career (24 if enrolled in an associate's degree program) can apply.

In 2018, Alaska Chapter member Tim Bogowith was the recipient of the **Terrance M. Hennessy Professional Education Grant** for \$895. Also, Jon Johanson was the recipient of the **Mike and Judy Thompson Business of Safety Matters Professional Education Grant** for \$1,000. The \$1,000 Alaska Chapter Scholarship was awarded to Michele Herstad of the Bakersfield Chapter.

Welcome New Chapter Members!

The Alaska Chapter continues to grow. The following individuals recently joined the AK Chapter. On behalf of the entire Membership, Welcome!

Aaron Butcher, Christopher Fish, Jody Kuhns, Margaret Tarkington, and Acery Garcia.





2019 Alaska Occupational Safety Summit



The 2019 Alaska Occupational Safety Summit was held October 22 – 23 at the Hotel Captain Cook. There were over 200 people in attendance and 31 exhibitors present. The conference committee from the Alaska



ASSP Chapter presented a strong and full program again this year, featuring 26 sessions which provided the latest updates from around the safety profession and the country.

The Keynote Speaker was Jose Perez CSHM, CIT, SMS, OHST (pictured left). Jose led a dynamic and powerful message on Purposeful Safety. Jose discussed how the safety professional's career at times takes many turns and even detours. In a profession that focuses on caring for others, Jose pointed out that it is important that we make time to reflect on our WHY, especially at critical times of our journey. Jose's presentation also discussed the journey of a "Giver" that found the safety profession, and ultimately found a way to give and serve others

Day two of the conference was opened by Joshua Franklin, MBA, CSP, SMS, CIT, CPCU, ARM. Josh's opening session offered guidance and encouragement for those that feel they are stuck in safety and how to break through their career plateau. Josh shared his recommendations on how to create a 90-day plan for breaking through a career plateau, how to inventory current career capital, and how to discover the secret to overcoming the fear of taking the next step toward your dreams.

Thank you to all the individuals that volunteered their time during the past year to make the Safety Summit a success: Lee Bauke, George Borderieux, Sam Cunard, Sam Dick, Rene Eliste, Dan Foote, Mike Hendricks, Charity Irmen, Jon Johanson, Tessa Jones, AJ Karameti, Ann Lindsey, Kelly McGovern, George Murray, Peter Ratner, Zach Sullivan, Maria Talasz, Chris Warner, and Amberle Wright.





2019 Alaska Occupational Safety Summit – Continued



Diana Stegall, ASSP President, with Jose Perez, and James Boretti, ASSP Regional Vice President, Region I.



Day Two Opening Speaker: Joshua Franklin







Joshua Franklin and Ann Lindsey

Membership Milestones

As of November 1, 2019, the AK ASSP Chapter had 346 members. Below is the list of Chapter members that recently celebrated a membership milestone with ASSP. Congratulations!

November 2019

Don Enslow: 40 Years Tanya Tresino: 10 Years Tiiu Kedds: 5 Years





Alaska Chapter in Action

In an effort to formally recognize and say "thank you" to the past 10 chapter presidents, current Chapter President Chris Warner recognized two of the past presidents, Pat Seidl and Alicia Martinez, during the September Chapter luncheon. In addition to their names and years they served as chapter president being engraved on the gold pan, the awards were engraved with the following message: *Your commitment and dedication to the Alaska Chapter is greatly appreciated*.



Alaska Chapter President, Chris Warner, with past chapter president, Pat Seidl (2010-2011)



Alaska Chapter President, Chris Warner, with past chapter president, Alicia Martinez (2012-2013)

